Hong Kong Forum of Physics 2011 : Novel Quantum Phenomena

December 14 – 16, 2011, The University of Hong Kong, HKSAR

Venue: Lecture Theatre P4, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building Rm. 522, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building (Poster Room)

Announcement:

We are pleased to announce that "Hong Kong Forum of Physics 2011: Novel Quantum Phenomena" will be held at the University of Hong Kong, Dec 14-16, 2011, which is the 6th one of the series of annual forum since 2006.

As is known, there have been significant interests on emerging research topics related to novel quantum matters, quantum control, and spintronics, which have also been rather active in both Hong Kong and the Asia Pacific region. This year's Forum will focus on several frontier topics including quantum control, exotic superconductivity and superfluidity, spintronics and topological states, and cold atoms. We expect to have several dozens of physicists from the US, Europe, Mainland of China, Taiwan, Japan, Korea, and Hong Kong to participate in the Forum, and tens of students or postdoctoral fellows from Hong Kong and Mainland of China to attend the Forum. It is anticipated that this Forum will promote collaborations among the physicists in Asia and in the West, and will also present to young physicists interesting and exciting research directions based on the intellectual merit.

There will be a ceremony event to award the Daniel Tsui Fellowship, sponsored by Center of Theoretical and Computational Physics and the Department of Physics at the University of Hong Kong, in honor of the Center's Honorary Director, Nobel laureate Prof. Daniel Tsui.

Invited Speakers:

Kamran Behnia (ESPCI-Paris) Yan Chen (Fudan Univ, China) Shengwang Du (HKUST, HK) Zhong Fang (IOP, China) Robert James Joynt (Univ of Wisconsin-Madison, USA) Xiao Hu (NIMS, Japan) Seunghun Lee (Univ of Virginia, USA) Jian-Xin Li (Nanjing Univ, China) Steve G. Louie (UC-Berkeley, USA) Qian Niu (Univ of Texas at Austin, USA) Bruce Normand (Renmin Univ, China) Jian-Wei Pan (USTC, China) T. Maurice Rice (ETH-Zurich) Li Sheng (Nanjing Univ, China) Hong Tang (Yale, USA) Lin Tian (UC-Merced, USA) Chin-Sen Ting (Univ of Houston, USA) Matthias Troyer (ETH-Zurich)

Guifre Vidal (PITP, Canada) Xin Wan (Zhejiang Univ, China) Hailin Wang (Univ of Oregon, USA) Xuesen Wang (National Univ of Singapore, Singapore) Yupeng Wang (IOP, China) Zheng Yu Weng (Tsinghua Univ, Beijing, China) Philipp Werner (ETH-Zurich) Biao Wu (Peking Univ, China) Xincheng Xie (Peking Univ, China) Cenke Xu (UC-Santa Barbara, USA) Su Yi (ITP, China) Li You (Tsinghua Univ, Beijing, China) Yang Yu (Nanjing Univ, China) Anthony Zee (UC-Santa Barbara, USA) Shou-Cheng Zhang (Stanford Univ, USA) Bangfen Zhu (Tsinghua Univ, Beijing, China) Shi-Liang Zhu (SCNU, China)

International Advisory Committee:

Enquiries:

Steve Louie (UC-Berkeley) T. Maurice Rice (ETH Zurich) Matthias Troyer (ETH Zurich) Fuchun Zhang (HKU) Shou-Cheng Zhang (Stanford Univ) Zhong-Xian Zhao (IOP, China)

Organizing Committee:

Shengwang Du (HKUST) Renbao Liu (CUHK) Zidan Wang (HKU) (Chair) Wang Yao (HKU)



Organizer:Centre of Theoretical and Computational Physics, The University of Hong KongRegistration:http://www.physics.hku.hk/~ctcp/HKForum11/Registration.htm

Please contact Miss Anna Wong (Forum Secretary) at annaylw@hkucc.hku.hk.