Last Updated on

SITE: The University of Hong Kong (Campus Map)
Lecture Theater P4, LG1/F, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building
POSTER ROOM: Rm. 522, 5/F Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building, The University of Hong Kong
DATE: 12 - 14 December, 2013
Lunches: Fong Shu Chuen Amenities Centre Restaurant, 2/F, Fong Shu Chuen Amenities Centre, HKU
Banquet: Victoria Harbour Restaurant
DATE: 13 December 2013 (FRI)
Address: Shop 243, 2/F, The Westwood, 8 Belcher's Street, Western District

Download Forum Poster


We are pleased to announce that "Hong Kong Forum of Physics 2013: Novel Quantum Systems" will be held at the University of Hong Kong, Dec 12-14, 2013, which is the 8th one of this series of annual forum since 2006.

As is known, there have been significant interests on emerging research topics related to novel quantum systems, quantum control, and spintronics, which have also been rather active in both Hong Kong and the Asia Pacific region. This year's Forum will focus on two frontier topics including layered two-dimensional materials and cold atoms. We expect to have several dozens of physicists from North America, Europe, Mainland of China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong to participate in the Forum, and tens of students or postdoctoral fellows from Hong Kong and Mainland of China to attend the Forum. It is anticipated that this Forum will promote collaborations among the physicists in Asia and in the West, and will also present to young physicists interesting and exciting research directions based on the intellectual merit.

Advisory Committee

Anthony J. Leggett (Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Steve Louie (University of California, Berkeley)
T. Maurice Rice (ETH Zurich)
Matthias Troyer (ETH Zurich)
Fuchun Zhang (The University of Hong Kong)
Shou-Cheng Zhang (Stanford University)

Organizing Committee

Hoi Fung Chau (The University of Hong Kong)
Shengwang Du (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Ren Bao Liu (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Zidan Wang (The University of Hong Kong)
Wang Yao (The University of Hong Kong)(Chair)
Shizhong Zhang (The University of Hong Kong)(Co-chair)

Invited Speakers

Cazalilla, Miguel (National Tsinghua University, Taiwan)
Chang, Kai (Institute of Semiconductors, CAS)
Chen, Qijin (Zhejiang University)
Chen, Shu (Institute of Physics, CAS)
Chen, Shuai (University of Science and Technology of China)
Chen, Xi (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
Feng, Ji (Peking University)
Guan, Xiwen (Institute of Physics and Mathematics, CAS; and Australian National University)
Gundogdu, Kenan (North Carolina State University, USA)
Jo, Gyu-Boong (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Lai, Chih-Wei (Michigan State University, USA)
Louie, Steven G. (University of California, Berkeley)
Lu, Haizhou (University of Hong Kong)
Mak, Kin Fai (Cornell University, USA)
Niu, Qian (University of Texas, Austin, USA)
Tan, Pingheng (Institute of Semiconductors, CAS)
Thywissen, Joseph (University of Toronto)
Troyer, Matthias (ETH Zurich)
Wang, Dajun (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Xie, Xincheng (Peking University)
Xu, Mingsheng (Zhejiang University)
Yao, Yugui (Beijing Institute of Technology)
Yi, Su (Institute of Theoretical physics, CAS)
Yu, Zhenhua (Tsinghua University, Beijing)
Zhang, Jing (Shanxi University)
Zhang, Peng (Renmin University)
Zhang, Shoucheng (Stanford University)
Zhang, Yuanbo (Fudan University)
Zhao, Hui (Kansas University, USA)
Zhu, Shiliang (Nanjing University)


The Forum is sponsored by
  1. The Centre of Theoretical and Computational Physics, The University of Hong Kong
  2. Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong
  3. Hong Kong Collaborative Research Fund (HKU8/CRF/11G)
  4. Hong Kong Area of Excellence Project (AoE/P-04/08)