

Organized by The Centre of Theoretical and Computational Physics, The University of Hong Kong

10 – 12 January 2016 (Sunday – Tuesday)

Lecture Theater P4, LG1/F, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building

Announcement

We are pleased to announce that "Hong Kong Forum 2015: Novel Quantum States and their Manipulations" will be held at the University of Hong Kong, **January 10-12, 2016**, which is the 9th one of this Forum series since 2006.

As is known, there have been significant interests on emerging research topics related to novel quantum systems, quantum control, which have also been rather active in both Hong Kong and the Asia Pacific region. This year's Forum will focus on frontier topics including novel materials and cold atoms. We expect to have several dozens of physicists from North America, Europe, Mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong to participate in the Forum, as well as tens of students and postdoctoral fellows to attend the Forum. It is anticipated that this Forum will promote collaborations among the physicists in Asia and in the West, and will also present young physicists with interesting and exciting future research directions.

Invited Speakers

Wei Bao (Renmin University, China) Guanghan Cao (Zhejiang University, China) Xianhui Chen (University of Science and Technology of China) Xi Dai (Institute of Physics, CAS) **Hong Ding** (Institute of Physics, CAS) Ruirui Du (Rice University, USA) Donglai Feng (Fudan University, China) **Claudius Gros** (Frankfurt, Germany) **Carsten Honerkamp** (RWTH Aachen University, Germany) Xiao Hu (MANA, Japan) Jainendra Jain (The Pennsylvania State University, USA) **Ting-Kuo Lee** (Academia Sinica, Taiwan) Youquan Li (Zhejiang University, China) Haiging Lin (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China) **Ying Liu** (The Pennsylvania State University, USA) Steve Louie (UC Berkeley, USA) Sadamichi Maekawa (JAEA, Japan) Frédéric Mila (EPFL, Switzerland) Naoto Nagaosa (RIKEN, Japan) **Qian Niu** (The University of Texas at Austin, USA) Bruce Normand (Renmin University, China) Masao Ogata (Tokyo University, Japan) T. Maurice Rice (ETH Zurich) **Zhi-Xun Shen** (Stanford University, USA) Chih-Kang Shih (The University of Texas at Austin, USA) Xiangang Wan(Nanjing University, China) Qianghua Wang (Nanjing University, China) Maw-Kuen Wu (National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan) Xincheng Xie (Peking University, China) **Qikun Xue** (Tsinghua University, China)

International Advisory Committee

Anthony J. Leggett (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Steve Louie (University of California, Berkeley) T. Maurice Rice (ETH Zurich) Matthias Troyer (ETH Zurich) Fuchun Zhang (Zhejiang University & HKU) Shou-Cheng Zhang (Stanford University)

Organizing Committee

Xiaodong Cui (HKU) (Co-chair) Kam-Tuen Law (HKUST) Dajun Wang (CUHK) Zidan Wang (HKU) Shizhong Zhang (HKU) (Chair) Qi Zhou (CUHK)

Funding

The Forum is supported by

- 1. HK Collaborative Research Fund (HKUST3/CRF/13G)
- 2. K. C. Wong Education Foundation
- 3. Department of Physics & The Centre of Theoretical and Computational Physics, HKU
- 4. HK Area of Excellence Project (AoE/P-04/08)

Registration:

http://www.physics.hku.hk/~ctcp/HKForum15/Registration.htm

For enquiry:

Please contact Miss Anna Wong (Forum Secretary) at annaylw@hku.hk