

Ultracold Atomic Gases:

Thirty Years of Activities and looking Forward

International Conference organized by the Department of Physics and the HK Institute of Quantum Science & Technology

Registration by Nov 8



December 4 – 8, 2023 (Monday - Friday) Wang Gungwu Lecture Hall, P4, Graduate House, Main Campus, HKU

Announcement

We are pleased to announce the international conference "Ultracold Atomic Gases: Thirty Years of Activities and Looking Forward" to be held at the University of Hong Kong from December 4 to December 8, 2023.

Starting from the first realization of a Bose-Einstein condensate in alkali gases in 1995, the field of ultracold atomic gases has greatly expanded to include investigations ultracold molecules, quantum dynamics, low-dimensional systems, and quantum simulation of paradigmatic models. After thirty years of activity, it is an opportune time to highlight the current forefronts that have emerged and to discuss directions.

Major topics of the conference include the following: Quantum simulations, Quantum dynamics in cold atoms, Polar molecules and Supersolids and quantum droplets.

The forum is supported by

- 1. ICAM I2CAM Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter
- 2. Department of Physics, HKU
- 3. Faculty of Science, HKU
- 4. CRF C7012-21GF, HK
- 5. HK Institute of Quantum Science & Technology
- 6. Guangdong-Hong Kong Joint Laboratory of Quantum Matter









Invited Speakers

Gordon Baym

(The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

Immanuel Bloch

(Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich)

Frédéric Chevy

(École Normale Supérieure)

Cheng Chin

(The University of Chicaga)

Jae-Yoon Choi

(Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology)

Nigel Cooper

(University of Cambridge)

Xiaoling Cui

(Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Richard Fletcher

(Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Takeshi Fukuhara

(RIKEN)

Thierry Giamarchi

(University of Geneva)

Xiwen Guan

(Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Jens Hertkorn

(University of Stuttgart)

Gyuboong Jo

(The Hong Kong University of Science Tiancai Zhang and Technology)

Jesper Levinsen

(Monash University)

Xinyu Luo

(Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)

Meera Parish

(Monash University)

Lucila Peralta Gavensky

(Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Ian Spielman

(Joint Quantum Institute, National Institute of Standards and Technology)

Shina Tan

(Peking University)

Joseph Thywissen

(University of Toronto)

Masahito Ueda

(The University of Tokyo)

Chris Vale

(Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia)

Dajun Wang

(The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Sebastian Will

(Columbia University)

Congjun Wu

(Westlake University)

Sungkit Yip

(Academia Sinica)

Hui Zhai

(Tsinghua University)

Jing Zhang

(Shanxi University)

(Shanxi University)

Bo Zhao

(University of Science and Technology of China)

Qi Zhou

(Purdue University)

Shiliang Zhu

(South China Normal University)

Organizing Committee

Immanuel Bloch (Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich)

Erich Mueller (Cornell University)

Chris Vale (Swinburne University of Technology)

Joseph Thywissen (University of Toronto)

Masahito Ueda (The University of Tokyo)

Hui Zhai (Tsinghua University)

Shizhong Zhang (The University of Hong Kong)

For enquiries, please contact Miss Mandy Tse at mandymyt@hku.hk