Workshop on β-decay and Charge-exchange Reactions for Nuclear-astrophysics
SITE: The University of Hong Kong (Campus Map)
Date: Spring, 2020
Venue: Chong Yuet Ming Phyiscs Building Room 522



Due to the current situation in Hong Kong, the workshop is postponed to Spring in 2020. We deeply apologize for any troubles and inconvience caused.



Transitions mediated by the weak interaction play important roles in a wide variety of astrophysical phenomena. The accurate description of beta decays and electron captures are necessary for modelling the evolution of stars, the description of nucleosynthesis upon their cataclysmic demise, for example in neutron-star mergers and core-collapse supernovae, and the interpretation of multi-messenger signals from such events. A wide variety of β-decay and electron-capture (EC) data are needed for use in astrophysical modelling. To acquire these data, a variety of experimental techniques can be applied. β / EC-decay measurements provide direct information, but only within a limited Q-value window. Charge-exchange data provide an indirect way to obtain the relevant weak interaction rates up to high excitation energies. A combination of the two are needed to benchmark and guide the development of theoretical models for transitions mediated by the weak force. Such theoretical models are necessary to estimate the weak rates for large sets of nuclei, and at astrophysical temperatures.

The Goals of this workshop are:

  - Discussing experimental and theoretical developments for estimating weak reaction rates for nuclear astrophysics
  - Understanding the connections between β-decay and charge-exchange experiments/theories and their input to stellar evolution and nucleosynthesis models
  - Identifying important experimental quantities for testing various theoretical methods
  - Stimulating new experimental ideas and future measurement programs
  - Developing collaborations of researchers from both theory and experiment to address key questions related to weak reaction rates for astrophysics

Organizing Committee:

Jenny Lee (HKU)
Shunji Nishimura (RIKEN)
Hendrik Schatz (MSU)
Yang Sun (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
Remco Zegers (MSU)


Invited Speakers (confirmed):

Alejandro Algora (RIKEN and IFIC )
Alfredo Estrade (Central Michigan University)
Yoshitaka Fujita (Osaka Univeristy)
Shun Furusawa (Tokyo University of Science)
Bingshui Gao (Institude of Modern Phyiscs)
Suqing Hou (Institute of Modern Physics)
Kazunari Kaneko (Kyushu Sangyo University)
Hiroyuki Koura (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
Sean Liddick (NSCL/ MSU)
Chengjian Lin (China Institute of Atomic Energy)
Jiajian Liu (HKU)
Nobuya Nishimura (Kyoto University)
Zhongming Niu (Anhui University)
Masaki Sasano (RIKEN)
Toshio Suzuki (Nihon University)
Yutaka Utsuno (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
Meng-Ru Wu (Academia Sinica)
Kenichi Yoshida (Kyoto University)
Cenxi Yuan (Sun Yat-sen University)


HKU Physics Department

For any questions, contact organizers (