banner2 banner2_m

About Us


Self Photos / Files - Image 17The Department of Physics, HKU, is housed in Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building on the main campus. It has 27 Faculty Staff, 2 Adjunct Faculty Staff, several Research Assistant Professors, about three dozen of Postdoctoral Fellows and many more Research Associates. There are about 140 Undergraduates and 70 Postgraduate students.


The department is committed to excellence in teaching and research. It runs the major undergraduate programs of Physics, or minor of Physics and Astronomy and contribute to teaching of some other interdisciplinary programs, such as Environmental Science. It offers a number of postgraduate projects.


Being research-active, the staff of the department engage in frontier researches in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics; Atomic, Optical and Quantum Physics; Experimental Condensed Matter and Material Science; Theoretical and Computational Condensed Matter; and Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics. We incorporate advanced researches in postgraduate and undergraduate teachings.


The department houses a number of state-of-the-art research facilities, including those for material synthesis and epitaxial growth (MBE, laser ablation systems, thermal and e-beam evaporators), for surface and material science studies (STM/AFM, LEED/RHEED, AES/UPS, SEM, XRD), and for electrical and optical characterizations (low-temperature and time-resolved PL/PLE, micro-Raman, probe station, DLTS/DLOS). It also has the essential apparatus for observational astronomy (Telescopes) and an underground laboratory for study of cosmic ray and particle physics.


The department houses HKU-UCAS Joint Institute of Theoretical and Computational Physics, which conducts active visiting programs, organizes international workshops on frontier topics, and runs Daniel Tsui Fellowship.


The department values collaborative researches and runs a number of joint research programs, such as UGC's Area of Excellence project, RGC's Collaborative Research Funds.